Saturday, June 14, 2008

Nominations sought for Librarian of the Year 2008

It is that time of the year again in the calendar of the LIASA that we want to celebrate our own intelligent, committed and excellent librarians that have made a difference in the LIS profession.

We are calling for nominations for the Librarian of the Year Award for 2008. This prestigious award is meant to recognise the most outstanding librarian whose contributions have had a great impact with the profession. The Librarian of the Year will be a role model who will be acknowledged for inspiring leadership, innovative LIS projects, excellent service to the community, commitment to the profession, etc.

The deadline for submission of nominations to respective branches is 1 August 2008. Nominations received after the deadline will not be considered. The Branches are responsible for the Branch adjudication process and have to submit the name of the Branch Winner to the LIASA National Office by 1September 2008. The Branches will announce the Branch winner at their Annual General Meetings or any time prior to
the conference.

The Branch winners will become the finalists of the LIASA Librarian of the Year and will be adjudicated at national level by an independent panel. The overall winner and two runner-ups will be announced at the LIASA conference Gala Dinner to be held on the 8th October 2008 at Cape Town Convention Center.

Prizes to be awarded:
1st R25,000
2nd R3,000
3rd R2,000

The prizes shall be used for educational purposes including study tours abroad, visits to relevant institutions, attendance of local or international conferences, seminars, workshops, relevant courses, etc.
All finalists will receive certificates of merit.

All paid up individual LIASA members in RSA are eligible for nomination including Branch Executives as well as Representative Council members who were excluded in the past. Nominees are not permitted to serve on adjudication panels in the branches. In the case of a branch chair being nominated a substitute for the adjudication panel should be appointed.

Previous winners of this award are not eligible for nomination.

Selection Criteria
All nominations received will be treated with strictest confidence. The Panel decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.
Criteria for evaluation will be based on the following:
The nominee should be:
* Paid-up LIASA member for a minimum five consecutive years
* Knowledgeable about LIS and its systems
* Able to demonstrate high level of professionalism
* Currently employed within the LIS sector, with minimum five years
* Qualified librarian with recognised LIS qualification

More information , including the rules, is available on the LIASA
website at

Nomination forms are also on the LIASA website at

Please send your nominations to Fatima Darries at
or on fax number 021 460 3879.

Fatima Darries

LIASA Western Cape Branch Chair, 2006-2008

No comments: