Saturday, October 23, 2010

Reminder: Call for nominations for the Western Cape Branch Award 2010

Are you making a difference? Is your library making a difference?

The Western Cape Branch of LIASA is calling for nominations for the 2010 Branch Award.

The LIASA Western Cape Branch Award recognizes an individual librarian or library team from any library (public, school, academic or special library) who has demonstrated exceptional creativity and resourcefulness in marketing, promoting and advocating for a single library or libraries in the Western Cape .

There are innovative and imaginative programmes, projects and events happening across the Western Cape in all our libraries. This award is aimed at recognizing and honouring the librarians for their creativity in promoting, marketing and advocating in their libraries through these activities.

Previous winners include the Milnerton Library Adult Learner Centre, Fish Hoek and Masiphumelele Library Team and the Vrygrond Community Library.

So regardless of the size or type of library you are in, if your library has had a special programme or project or event, where you have made a difference, raised the profile of your library – we want to hear about it!

Only programmes or projects run January to December 2009 are eligible. Previously nominated individuals or library programmes are eligible to be nominated again provided that they have not won the Award.

Nomination forms for the 2010 LIASA Western Cape Branch Award are available via the branch website at or via the branch blog at

The closing date is 15th November 2010 for nominations and supporting material.

Short-listed candidates will be invited to attend the branch’s end-of-the-year Breakfast where the winner of the 2010 LIASA Western Cape Branch Award will be announced. (In the case of a team, a representative will be invited to the function.)

Detailed information and the nomination form is attached to this email.

Need more information? Then contact Lulama Langeni, Branch PRO at lulama.langeni at or 021 371-3360

or Branch Chair, Ingrid Thomson at ingrid.thomson at or 021 650 3703

No comments: